Reader Profile: Amine Dahmani

| Conventional methods for addressing beach erosion are ineffective because they often fail to address the major causes, which are sand dune destruction, longshore drift disruption, and saltwater intrusion, points out Amine Dahmani, senior project manager at SESI Consulting Engineers. “An overlooked and underestimated contributor to coastal erosion is the change in the characteristics of sand ... READ MORE

Advertiser’s Index

|   A.H. Meyer Maschinenfabrik GmbH www.ahmeyer.com Berry Global www.typargeosynthetics.com/products/geocells Bowie Industries Inc www.bowieindustries.com Bowman Construction/ Biosol www.bowmanconstructionsupply.com ConExpo-Con/Agg www.conexpoconagg.com Dietz Hydroseeding www.dietzhydroseeding.com East Coast Erosion Control www.eastcoasterosion.com Ecoturf Midwest www.ecoturfmidwest.com Ernst Conservation Seeds www.ernstseed.com Erosion Supply Company www.erosionsupply.com Filtrexx International LLC www.filtrexx.com FINN Corporation www.finncorp.com Gator Guard Environmental Products Inc www.gatorguard.com Genesis Nursery Inc www.genesisnurseryinc.com ... READ MORE

ShowCase

|   SOX Erosion Solutions SOXFence Silt/Sediment Barrier is the superior choice for protective project fencing that reduces water encroachment, retains sediments, and serves as a containment barrier. Unlike other project fencing, installers do not need to dig a trench to install; the patented design eliminates this labor task. SOXFence requires less staking due to its ... READ MORE

Blankets and Mats: The Workhorses of Erosion Control

| Blankets and mats are rather ordinary tools of the erosion control trade. They usually don’t look pretty or fancy. At best, they are tinted green to look somewhat natural, to blend in until the seed beneath them can germinate and the real vegetation can start growing. But what blankets and mats do is valuable and ... READ MORE

Safety First: Slope Stabilization Techniques

| Professionals who work with soil erosion control are accustomed to using the Revised Universal Soil Loss Equation (RUSTLE2) to determine erosivity, erodibility, and land use. What began as an equation method became an enhanced database for scientists that includes the results of those equations to help determine soil loss and techniques for soil conservation. Engineers ... READ MORE

Keeping Cool and Holding Steady

| Picture the perfect Saturday afternoon—a pleasant temperature, an outdoor wine-tasting event that promises a delicious experience—but wait! A heavy rain fell the night before; the grounds will be muddy, your shoes will sink in, and it’s suddenly sounding less enticing. However, the event planners and winery operators aren’t at all concerned about mud, or customer ... READ MORE

Geosynthetics for Channel and Pond Lining

| When it comes to the use of geosynthetics for stabilization, reinforcement, or even the capping of a landfill, the real test of their effectiveness is their ability to mitigate the issue that served as a driving factor necessitating their installation in the first place. Case in point: the use of Presto Geosystems’ Geoweb for a ... READ MORE

Seeding Natural Beauty in the Big City—and Elsewhere

| Almost anyone familiar with American culture can envision some of the iconic locations in Philadelphia—from Independence Hall, the home of the Liberty Bell, to the art museum stairway made famous in the Eye of the Tiger scene from Rocky, to the Philadelphia Canoe Club located on the banks of the Schuylkill River just beyond downtown. The ... READ MORE

Editor’s Comments: Tear Down the Walls?

| A BATTLE IS TAKING PLACE on the Mississippi River involving conservation groups, the US Army Corps of Engineers, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, and local drainage districts. The issue? The height of some of the levees along the river, which one group claims is causing excessive flooding and erosion for properties downstream. The height of the levees—earthen ... READ MORE

Advertiser’s Index

| Blocksom & Co www.blocksom.com Bowie Industries Inc. www.bowieindustries.com Dietz Hydroseeding www.dietzhydroseeding.com Ecoturf Midwest www.ecoturfmidwest.com Express Blower Inc. www.expressblower.com Filtrexx International LLC www.filtrexx.com FINN Corporation www.finncorp.com Gator Guard Environmental Products Inc. www.gatorguard.com Geosynthetics Conference www.geosyntheticsconference.com HydroStraw LLC www.hydrostraw.com IECA www.ieca.org Invisible Structures Inc. www.invisiblestructures.com J.W. Faircloth & Son www.fairclothskimmer.com JRM Chemical Inc./Soilmoist www.soilmoist.com Keystone Retaining Wall ... READ MORE

FORESTER